RECIPE| Butternut Squash Soup

butternut-squash-apple-soup-vert-a-2000

This recipe is by far the easiest and tastiest soup, I have ever made. I am not kidding. I am also pretty sure the magical ingredient is the nutmeg, even though at first glance I was sceptical.

I found this recipe literally when I was doing my weekly grocery shop. I was standing outside and there was a beautiful bin full of butternut squashes locally grown and organic. I thought I need a recipe so I went straight to google. I am one for eating foods whole, raw and not processed. I also love Minimalist Bakers philosophy to keep recipes simple, 10 ingredients or less or to one pot. This recipe for filled all my requirements.

Also please see this post on how to peel and cube butternut squash if you never have before. Super helpful. Lesson learned don’t peel first. Cut into 2 halves first or else it will be extra slippery.

Video and recipe shared from Simply Recipes click here to see their original post.

Ingredients:

1 medium yellow onion, chopped (about 1 cup)
1 celery rib, chopped (about 3/4 cup)
1 carrot, chopped (about 3/4 cup)
2 Tbsp butter
1 butternut squash, peeled and chopped, seeds discarded (see How to Peel and Cut a Butternut Squash)
1 tart green apple, peeled, cored, chopped (squash and apple ratio should be 3:1)
3 cups chicken stock or broth (use vegetable broth if cooking vegetarian)
1 cup water
Pinches of nutmeg, cinnamon, cayenne, salt and pepper
I have enjoyed this recipe all fall and spring. It also freezes well too so you can pull out and enjoy anytime.

Let me know what you think-

AG_sign

Leave a Reply

